Home / Uncategorized / 6th edition of National Medical Excellence awards launched

6th edition of National Medical Excellence awards launched

The 6th edition of the National Medical Excellence Awards has been launched August 25th, 2020 at the Ministry of information in Accra.

The event is to reward outstanding health professionals who have made a significant impact in the country and slated for 26th November 2020.

Quality healthcare delivery is an important factor in nation building because a healthy nation is a wealthy nation. 

Encouraging healthcare workers to give their best is a prudent and effective awarding mechanism to be established so as to award deserving healthcare delivery workers of all levels in the country.

 For this reason the 1Z group conceived the idea of celebrating healthcare deliverers from all regions in the country who tirelessly and usually in suboptimal conditions renders healthcare services to the whole nation through the institution of the


The award scheme was launched in 2011 and the maiden edition held in 2015.

The National Medical Excellence Awards seeks to celebrate deserving healthcare delivery personnel within Private and Mission hospitals from Specialist and surgeons to the transition managers( Formally referred to as Mortuary men).

The award is held every last Friday of the month of November at the Speaker’s Forecourt inside Parliament, Statehouse and this year marking the 6th edition is slated for 27th November 2020.

The theme for the celebration this year is on ‘QUALITY HEALTHCARE, DELIVERY A CONCERN FOR ALL’.

Speaking at the launch, the President of National Medical Excellence AWARDS MEA, Dr. Titus Dauda slammed some political parties who seek to politicize the award scheme by funding it.

According to him, this will undermine the independence and credibility of the award, stating that even though the scheme is struggling to generate funds, the council will not politicize the awards to favour any political party.

Fourteen(14)award categories would be up for grabs. Three awards would be given to each category.

The categories consists of Transition managers, Dentists, Nurses, Midwives, Pharmacists, Diagnostic Sciences, Auxiliary staffs(Cleaners, Orderlies, Security personnel, Drivers, Records Etc), Doctors, Administrators, Best Medical superintendent of the year, Physician Assistants, Media and the Special Awardees. 

A new category has been introduced this year, for the Police and Military personnel who worked tirelessly during the lockdown period as well as contact tracers.

A technical committee would do the selection after a vote by the public via texting.

About Isaac Otoo

News Anchor News Reporter TV Host www.adoanewsonline.com

Check Also

Concerned Drivers Association take steps to increase transport fares by 40%

A group of drivers known as the Concerned Drivers Association has in a recent communique …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *