Home / Sports / Ghana Football Awards: Hearts sweeps 3 awards as Dede Ayew wins player of the year

Ghana Football Awards: Hearts sweeps 3 awards as Dede Ayew wins player of the year

BY: Nikurbe Justine

The third edition of Ghana Football Awards was held at the Grand Arena of the Accra International conference centre. Over fourteen personalities and institutions were awarded, with the Black Stars skipper Andre Dede Ayew walking away with the biggest prize on the night.

The former Swansea player of the season Andre Dede Ayew was adjudged the footballer of the year for his exploits for Swansea and the Black Stars in the just-ended season. Andre Ayew scored 17 goals in the championship becoming Swansea’s top scorer in the just ended season. His goals propelled the club to the final stage of the championship playoff and unfortunately they were knockout out by Brentford. After the award, Andre said, ” I’m very happy for this award and I thank God almighty and to all my fans”.

The former Back Stars Captain and all time top scorer in the history of Black stars, Asamoah Gyan was named the best player in the last decades. Asamoah Gyan and Christiano Ronaldo are the only players in football history to score in 9 consecutive major tournaments and also he is the all time African top scorer in the history of world cup. The former Sanderland striker returned to the Ghana premier league after a couple of years in Europe and Asia. He joined legon cities at the start of the season but lack of fitness and injuries is keeping the striker away from showing.

Accra Hearts of Oak the league leaders won the team of the year, they are currently leading the league table with 60 points while their arc rival Asante Kotoko behind is them with 57 points on the league log. The phobians have been undefeated in their last 12 games in all competitions and are 4 points away from ending their 12 years trophy drought. Accra Hearts of Oak Head coach Samuel Boadu was named the coach of the year after beating the likes of coach Frank Annoh woka and coach Yaw Preko. Salifu Ibrahim won the local base player of the year after an impressive performance with Eleven Wonders and Accra Hearts of Oak. He has 8 man of the match awards this season more than any other player.

The goalkeeper of their year award went to Danlaad Ibrahim, the fourth Asante Kotoko goalkeeper was named the best keeper in the Africa U- 20 championship after winning the Ultimate trophy in the competition, he was in contention with Black stars goalkeeper Richard Ofori and Asante Kotoko goal keeper Razak Abalora. Danlaad Ibrahim is originally a Kotoko goalkeeper but on loan at King Faisal. Asante Kotoko CEO, Nana Yaw Amponsah won the best CEO he was nominated with Elloeny Amande the CEO of Karela United and Dr. Gifty Oware Aboagye the CEO of Barry Ladies.

Abdul Fatawu Isahaku won the Odartey Lamptey’s future Star award. Abdul Fatawu Isahaku was named the best player in the just ended Africa U-20 championship in Mauritania and also had a fantastic season with Steadfast fc. Due to his impressive performance, he attracted the interest from European club like Liverpool and Leverkusen and ended up signing for the English giant Liverpool. Accra Great Olympics won the the most vibrant club on social media, this is an award given to a club that is active on their various social media handles and keep their fans entertained through the season.

Legon cities star Nasiru Moro won the goal of season, his goal came against Abusua Dwarfs.

The women team of the year went to Hasaacas Ladies, As They won the women premier league this season after defeating Ampem Darkoa ladies in the finals. Mercy Tagoe won the women coach of the year she was in contention Edna Quagraine . Ophelia Amponsah, Ampem Darkoa ladies footballer won the women player of the year. Senegalese goalkeeper Eduard Mendy won the best International footballer of the year. Eduard Mendy joined Chelsea in the just ended season from Rennes, he won the champions League with Chelsea and kept the most clean sheets in the competition.

About Adoa News

Check Also

2020/21 GPl Nasco coach & player of the season announced

By: Nikurbe Justine Accra Hearts of Oak were the Champions of the 2020/21 Ghana Premier …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *