Home / Uncategorized / 2020 NPP Parliamentary primaries rundown of Tema municipal assembly

2020 NPP Parliamentary primaries rundown of Tema municipal assembly

The Governing New Patriotic Party held it’s parliamentary primaries on Saturday 20th June ahead of the 2020 general elections, A total of 374 aspirants contested in 100 out of 168 constituencies.

Constituencies in the Tema Municipal Assembly; Tema Central, Tema East and Tema west also took part in the primaries.

Tema Central had four candidates contesting. These were the two-term incumbent Mr. Kofi Brako, Mr. Ramseyer Agyemang Prempeh who had contested multiple times, Mr Charles Hanson and Mr Yves Nii Noi Hanson Nortey. Mr. Nii Noi Hanson took the crown off the incumbent to emerge as the winner, hence parliamentary candidate elect for the Tema Central constituency.

In the Tema East constituency, the party was expectant of 766 delegates to cast their ballots towards electing or re-electing the two times contestant, Mr Benjamin Ashitey or the incumbent Mr Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus Glover respectively. In all, 755 delegates cast their votes which ruled out that the incumbent Titus Glover retains his parliamentary seat for the Tema East constituency.

For the Tema West constituency, the incumbent Mr Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah managed to retain his seat in Parliament as he has once again emerged the winner after a good contest with Mr Keku Armquasia Armazuah and Mr. Kwesi Poku Bosompem, the assembly member for sakumono and a former presiding member for Tema West Municipal Assembly, who before the election seemed to be a ”darling boy of the constituency”.

Courage Akosua Agrah

About Adoa News

Check Also

Concerned Drivers Association take steps to increase transport fares by 40%

A group of drivers known as the Concerned Drivers Association has in a recent communique …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *